Yes, I (along with many, many programmers of the past and future) have fallen into the trap of Python! I am sitting in on a week-long summer camp for High School aged young adults and learning the basics of Python. I, of course, understand the concepts and move faster than them so I am sitting in the back playing with the picture wrapper classes that are provided with JES(or Jython) and having a blast making individual pixels change color. However, this is all a little behind my level of learning so I expect to move to a bigger IDE soon. I can say that I now understand at least in part why other techie people have fallen in love with it in the past.

Other than that I recently found out that I submitted the wrong file on my Data Structures midterm, turning in MazeMain.java(test file) instead of OurMaze.java(actual file) and so I made a 30 out of 100 out of the grace of my professor’s heart. He actually looked at the next turned in program which happened to be the same classes just with more time to finish(for extra credit) and gave me the 30 points off of the 3 easy questions that he was sure that I had completed during the midterm. However, it was obvious that I had revised the other two questions and so he couldn’t give me credit for what I did during the midterm. Unfortunately, I back up the .zip files I turn in and not the entire program at the time of turn in (something I will have to remedy from now on).

I still have heard nothing on the research grant, but there is plenty of time to cramp my hands from finger-crossing.

